About CMCO


Seeing the rapid increase in complex data centers and recognizing the growing need for qualified operators to maintain them, the U.S. Department of Labor’s Employment and Training Administration provided a grant to enable the creation of a multi-faceted program to prepare tomorrow’s workforce for the Mission Critical Operator role. In an industry-wide process, a full job skills analysis was conducted, and findings were validated through a global survey. Experienced Mission Critical Operators from major corporations then created the Mission Critical Operator Blueprint, or a list of the key knowledge areas every Mission Critical Operator must have to be effective, including maintenance, reporting, and incidence response. This knowledge Blueprint now serves as the basis upon which select education, training, and certification programs are built.

CMCO Assessment

The Certified Mission Critical Operator program (CMCO), administered by GSX, is the result of that work. Assessment questions were developed and validated by experienced data center Mission Critical Operators to ascertain an individual’s level of knowledge in those areas identified as essential.

Achieving the CMCO credential requires the successful completion of the 87-question assessment. The certification is valid for 3 years and renewed by retaking the assessment.


Benefits of obtaining the CMCO credential include:

Defines requirements of a CMCO professional
Based on community guidance and input to a rigorous development process, defines and establishes a single set of standards for the knowledge and skills required to perform competently as a Certified Mission Critical Operator
Provides a rigorous evaluation process for individuals to prove their achievement of the standards and establish professional credibility
Provides organizations the means to manage their workforce, from both the hiring and career progression points of view
Provides a method for the profession and the professional to stay current as work evolves, via program maintenance and recertification


The CMCO credential is open to any interested party. It is recommended, however, that an individual have:

  • One year of education in a Mission Critical academic program, or
  • One year of work experience in a Mission Critical environment.

Non-Discrimination Policy

The CMCO Program does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age, disability (physical or mental), sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, political affiliation, genetic information, or pregnancy, and does not retaliate for participating in protected activities. The CMCO Program complies with all applicable jurisdictional laws and regulations related to protection against discrimination in access to CMCO. Additionally, CMCO procedures ensure that all applicants and candidates are treated in an equitable and consistent manner throughout the entire certification process. The eligibility requirements, assessment instrument content, assessment environment, scoring method, and maintenance and recertification process provide for a fair, impartial, and bias-free certification program.

We offer various Certified Mission Critical Operator testing packages for individuals and organizations